“A wise old owl sat in an oak, the more he heard the less he spoke; the less he spoke the more he heard; why aren’t we all like that wise old bird?”

The more I think about it the more I like this Mother Goose nursery rhyme. The truth in it rings so true. How often do we talk too much and listen too little?

I’m reminded of the first part of Psalm 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God…” So many times when I’m talking to people I dominate the conversation and don’t really focus on what’s being said. When I pray I talk too much and listen too little.

I really notice it with the students at the school where I teach. They will be talking and I will constantly have to remind myself to focus on what they’re saying. I’m thinking about what I’m going to say before they are even done. Does that ever happen to you? The students tend to be the same way. In their youthful exuberance they also want to be heard. Each one of them are talking for attention. What if they, what if we, listened more and talked less?

This bird is definitely wise. However, his wisdom is not original. This timeless truth and many others can be found straight from the Bible, God’s own words to us. The book of Proverbs contains so many wise sayings to guide us in our journey. Read a Proverb a day, there are thirty-one, and watch God transform your life by His Word.

The wisdom of this wise old owl is available to everyone in the Bible.

Do I talk too much? Maybe. Every once in a while, though, I will stop and pray “Lord teach me to listen.”

