The start of another school year has come and gone…

It’s hard to believe that I’ve already been back to class for four weeks. I’ve started up tennis and I’m already wondering what I’ve gotten myself into.

While the start of the school year is a kick-off for many youth groups it is a time of stabilization for me and the youth ministry at GEC because of my dual role as youth pastor and teacher. This has proven to be a frustration in the past and this year is no exception. There is so much to do and not nearly enough time to do it.

Tennis and school eat up a huge chunk of my energy and time. When I arrive home I’ve got a beatiful wife and daughter who deserve the rest, if not the best, of my remaining time. Add in ministry responsibilities, food, and sleep, and you have a very tired teacher.

My daughter recently asked me when it would be May again. She likes May because that’s when daddy is at home when she gets up in the morning. You’ve got to love such a precious heart.

One verse that encourages me if from Psalm 46. It speaks truth and helps me to refocus my priorities on the eternal.

“Be still and know that I am God (Psalm 46:10, ESV).”

Lord, teach me to be still and rest in knowing You. Help me to place the right importance on the right things.

