So my wife and I are teaching our 3-year old daughter how to pray…

I don’t know how many of you have been through this with a child of your own but this has to be one of the most precious times in parenting. There are times that I think that it doesn’t get any better than this.

Randomly, our daughter will go off into the other room when she hears that daddy has had a rough day. Curiously, we wait to see what happens next. She begins praying, out loud, for daddy and the things that have caused me (daddy) frustration.

She remembers to pray for things and people that I wouldn’t think twice about.

I remember praying for her as a little girl, early in the mornings, as I rocked her back to sleep. What an amazing thing to see her now praying for others. I treasure the time I get to pray with and for her.

At the dinner table she will pray for the food and for other family members. Taking her cue from a relative, who is also learning to pray, she recently began to name every item of food and drink on the table. She takes so long she forgets to pray for people. To help her along we have been trying to guide her by suggesting people she could pray for.

Tonight she forgot to pray for people again. As soon as she said “amen” I asked her to pray for specific people. To the surprise of my wife and I she started her prayer again and finished by saying, and I quote;

“Dear God, thank-you for supicic (specific) people. In Jesus’ name, amen.”

It doesn’t get any better than this!

