“Live Life”

These are the two words that I found on, of all things, my new stick of Degree deodorant. When I went to the wikipedia this morning I found out that Degree puts various phrases on most of their stick deodorants.

Why would someone want to put a phrase like that on a stick of deodorant? It is going to get wiped off eventually and no trace will be left behind.

There’s the rub(pun intended). No trace will be left behind except what is left in the mind.

I suppose that’s how subliminal advertising works. In the music class I teach we’ve been studying the effects of music and advertising. My hope in doing so is to make students aware of the powerful influence of advertising. One report says that advertising in America alone exceeds $144 billion.

Advertising is all over the place. It wouldn’t be advertising otherwise. What else can we fill our minds with though? Is there a way to influence our minds with something more powerful than media advertising?

I think so.

Psalm 119:9-11 (ESV) says this:

“How can a young man keep his way pure? By guarding it according to your word. Whith my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments! I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”

Not only will the Word help guide you in keeping your heart pure, it will also help you “live life” to its fullest. It will help guide you when you are assaulted by the messages of the media. It will light your path and give you a sturdy path to follow.

Admittedly, “live life” will stick with me for some time (pun intended again). It has already influenced me enough to write about it. As I started this post I had no intentions of making it spiritual. However, the more I thought about it the more it made sense.

What should be our greatest influence? Deodorant slogans? Starbucks sayings? Or maybe God’s Word?

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart (Hebrews 4:12, ESV).”

That’s a decision each of us has to make.

