I have had an amazing time tonight. Do you know why? It’s because I’ve been laughing! That’s it, just laughing. I started watching videos tonight on YouTube and I just busted up. Most of the videos I was watching were from the Skit Guys. These guys are really funny and they pack a powerful message too.

It helped me to realize that maybe I can be a little uptight sometimes. Sometimes I take things too seriously. Sometimes I take myself too seriously. Then I begin to think too much and it just consumes me.

Tonight, I also had a fresh realization that I love what I do. I love working with youth. Sure, it has its moments, but I enjoy working as both a teacher and as a youth pastor. How many people can say they love their jobs? I can.

“Anxiety in a man’s heart weights him down, but a good word makes him glad (Proverbs 12:25, ESV).”

“A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones (Proverbs 17:22, ESV).”

These 2 verses could not be more appropriate. I probably don’t laugh enough. I need to relax and laugh more.

How about you? Do you get weighed down by life? Do you enjoy what you do? When is the last time you laughed so hard tears rolled down your face?

Some of you may not be able to do that right now. For those who are truly lamenting over a painful situation I empathize with you. Please take heart and know that, ultimately, your sorrow will soon be turned to joy (Revelation 21:4). I pray that God will give you His strength.

For everyone else, may I humbly suggest something? Do something just because it’s funny. Laugh at yourself, rent a funny video, go to the local mall and just watch the quirky things that people do.

Loosen up, love God, and love others.

