I recently started home roasting my coffee. I didn’t know that coffee could taste so fresh! Not only does it taste better, but it’s cheaper too. The only downside is that I find myself drinking more coffee than I might just because it tastes so good.

A friend of mine and I will get together on a regular basis to hang out and roast coffee. We both have similar jobs and our conversation almost inevitably turns in that direction every time we are together. Last weekend, while we were attempting to burn down my garage, we were talking about how coffee roasting is somewhat like going through trials as a Christian.

When you roast coffee you have to heat the beans to high temperatures and agitate them. As you do that the chaff comes off as the oils inside the bean heat up. There’s more to it, but ultimately, you end up with a wonderful product that is heavenly to behold (or taste as the case may be).

Our spiritual life is much like that. In order for us to be the finished product that God desires we have to go through the flames. During that heating process, when we’re stirred up and agitated, God burns away the “chaff” in our lives so that we can be the people that we’ve been called to be.

How about you? What kind of fires or agitations have you been going through lately?

Do you see them as problems in life or a means to an end? Sometimes how you view your trials makes all the difference.

Think about these words from “How Firm A Foundation” by the hymn writer, John Rippon:

When through fiery trials thy pathways shall lie,
My grace, all sufficient, shall be thy supply;
The flame shall not hurt thee; I only design
Thy dross to consume, and thy gold to refine.

The lyrics were penned in the 1700’s yet they are still true today.

