Do you ever get tired? Have you ever been discouraged? Do you ever feel beaten down? Do you get frustrated when things don’t go the way you want them to?

I know I do. Sometimes it’s more difficult than others. Part of it is because of my melancholy personality. Part of it is because life is tough. And part of it is, well, because I have a lot to learn.

A few weeks ago I was reading through Luke and a verse struck me. Jesus had just started his public ministry. He was talking to a crowd and evidently they got a little too close so he jumped into the nearest boat, since he was by the Sea of Galilee, and asked the owner of the boat to stop what he was doing (cleaning his nets) and push on out to a safe distance. From there Jesus taught the crowds.

When Jesus was done with his preaching he told the owner of the boat to push out further to deep water and throw out his nets for fish. Now this fisherman and his friends has been out all night long and hadn’t caught a thing.

I bet they were tired…

I bet they were frustrated…

I bet they were slightly annoyed…

I bet they wondered what Jesus was doing…

What would you have done in their situation? I’m not sure what I would’ve done but I do know this was the moment of decision. Do you press on or just stop and go home?

Simon’s response was simple. “But if you say so, we’ll try again.”

I’ll let you go and read the rest of chapter 5 to see the results for yourself. Rest assured though, when Jesus is leading amazing things are happening!

Are we willing to press on just because Jesus says so? Are we willing to give up our own comfort, desires, expectations, or careers because Jesus tells us to? Are we willing to risk failure or give up fame and fortune to follow Jesus?

Jesus, I gotta be honest, sometimes I’m scared and tired and confused. I don’t get it and I want to know where you’re leading.

But if you say so…

