It’s official. I will be teaching music at Lynwood Elementary this upcoming year. We actually start a week from Monday.

To be honest, this has been a tough move for me. As I’ve written in a previous post, I do not see myself as an elementary music teacher. Ironically enough, this is what I spent so much of my university time preparing to do. I trained to do K-12 instrumental and vocal. I spent a lot of time working with the Indianapolis Childrens Choir and almost planned on going to Hungary to study music.

How that all got changed is another post for another time.

There is a part of me that is excited about the musical side of this job. I like music and I’ve missed a more hands-on interaction, musically, with my students. The part of me that doesn’t like it is the part that doesn’t know what to do with elementary students.

I really am open to appreciating and even liking this job. I bet it can’t have nearly the same kind of drama that I’ve experienced with middle school and high school!

I’ve has such great help preparing for the job too! I went back to a teacher that I worked with back in my university days. He took a day to come quite a distance to help me out even though we hadn’t talked for almost ten years. Thanks Andy! One of my professor’s, Dr. Penny Dimmick, also spent a day working with me. She loaned out many of her materials so that I could re-familiarize myself with music for elementary children.

Where will all of this lead? I don’t know. I’ve spent a lot of time praying, whining, agonizing, and struggling over this decision. In all of this there is a bit of peacefulness that I am doing the right thing.

I don’t get it, but one thing I know. Come Monday morning the students arrive and I will give them the best musical experience of which I am capable.

