I really like writing, I promise. Life just sort of starts rolling and continues to pick up momentum.

Here are a couple of personal updates:

1. I really enjoy my job as an elementary music teacher. I never would’ve suspected that. I’m still torn, though, as to how I should use my time best (music teacher or youth pastor). Right now I’m doing both. I don’t know how long that can last.

2. I still have the headaches. We’re still trying to figure out what the root cause is. I have made some headway (no pun intended) but the headaches are still consistent (24/7). I can guarantee you that my life has been forever changed by the things we’ve learned.

There are so many thoughts running around in my head right now. I’m reading books and web sites on youth ministry, on music education, and on health. The more I learn the more questions I have. I’ll save the health and music stuff for another time but here are a few youth ministry and church questions I’ve been pondering…

These are from my journal a few days ago:

1. A youth pastor can’t make mature disciples.

2. Neither can a parent.

3. A person must cooperate with the work of the Holy Spirit in their lives before any growth in discipleship can be made.

4. This does not diminish the role of the youth pastor or the parents (foremost) to commit to the responsibilities God has given them.

5. Does a youth ministry need consistency to achieve its purpose? If it does, how do we function in a society where everything competes for the attention of our youth?

6. How do you develop relationships and discipleship without consistency?

7. Schools demand consistency with attendance, grades, practices, rehearsals, etc. What does/can the church do?

I’m wrestling a lot with these questions. I’d love to hear your feedback.

