Anybody else ready for school?  I think I am.  I’m getting ready to start a new school year at a new school teaching two additional grades!  I’m a little nervous but overall I’m really excited.  In preparation for our upcoming staff retreat the principal sent each teacher a puzzle piece with the following directions: “put your entire name on it using a decorative flare that reflects your personality.”

Oddly enough, I knew immediately what I was going to do.  I am going to decorate mine in camouflage.  Before you ask, no I am not in the military and I don’t do a lot of hunting.  Here is how this reflects my personality:

  • With camouflage you can blend in and be a part of everything around you.  I feel like I can do that very well.  I am a team-player and will work hard to make my team look good.
  • The other part of the camo is that it allows you to lay in wait until you need to spring into action.  When needed I am willing to spring into action and lead.  I am willing to be bold and brave as I lead the charge for a cause I believe in.

So maybe it’s a little cheesy, but it’s true.

How about you? Are you a good leader, a good follower, or both?  Who you are leading?  Who you are following?

Do you have a cause you believe in, one that you will lead the charge in and even sacrifice your life if necessary?  I do!  I love music education and believe strongly in the value of the arts.  I will go to great lengths to give our students the resources they need and the experiences they deserve.  I will work hard to make sure each student has an excellent and balanced arts education.  However, I will not die for it.  I will die for the cause of Christ.  Not only will I die for Him but I am also willing to live for Him.

How about you?  How do you fit into the puzzle?

