“Seasonal Youth Ministry” – that is the title of a book I keep saying I’m going to write one of these days.  The idea behind the book is that every youth worker and youth ministry goes through various seasons.  It could be the beauty of spring as a youth worker begins their ministry.  That, of course, would be followed by the long hot days of summer as everything is in high gear, full of activity and growth.  Blowing through the next season would be the the beautiful colors of fall as seniors graduate, situations change, and routines establish themselves.  Finally you would have the cold winter months where everything is in hibernation, resting, ready to burst forth into a new season.

What makes this idea intriguing to me is that every season has multiple ways it could be played out in the life of each youth worker, each youth ministry, and each person who is impacted spiritually.  On top of that, everyone has their favorite season (and their least-favorite!) and stories to tell about them.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about this much more here recently since I am now entering a new season of my ministry.   About a month ago I resigned as the youth director in our church.  It is no lie to say it has been difficult but I am as sure of the decision now as I was when I made it.  I have been serving at this church for ten years.  Sometimes I was the youth director, sometimes I was the worship director, and sometimes I was both!  It was a decision that was supported by our church and our relationship remains very strong.  We have already hired a new youth director.  He has served with our youth ministry for many years and it is a joy to help him transition into this new role.

This is a new season for me.  With a new child on the way, it is a season I should be enjoying.  Yet, there is this nagging feeling…

What do you do with those nagging feelings?  What do they mean?  Will they go away?

These are questions that we experience in every season.  And in these questions, during these seasons, it is important to remember that God is sovereign and faithful.  Each season will yield its fruit in the appropriate time.

What seasons have you gone through?  Were they good or bad?  How did God show Himself faithful?  Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments below.

