Some time ago I began memorizing Psalm 34:1-3.  For the life of me I can’t remember why I started memorizing it.  At the beginning I remember thinking that, on the surface, this verse was lacking in practical application (can I say that?).  However, as this verse has sunk in the meaning of it has been very valuable to me, especially as a worship leader.

I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make its boast in the Lord; the humble shall hear it and rejoice. O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together (Psalm 34:1-3, ESV).

  1. The psalmist starts off with a singular expression of praise: “I” will bless the Lord & “my” mouth.
  2. It then includes the “humble” who will join him in their rejoicing.
  3. These three verses culminate with the psalmist exhorting other to join in magnifying and exalting the Lord’s name together.

Maybe I’m reading more into it that I should but I see the progression from individual to larger group and it seems to reflect my experience leading praise and adoration as well.  The leaders come in prepared – or at least they should.  A small number of others will initially join, followed by an invitation for others to join in as well.

I pray that we would make the most of every opportunity to “magnify the Lord” and “exalt His name together.”

